Go back to news listing

PRSD Board of Trustees Elects New Board Chair

The Peace River School Division (PRSD) Board of Trustees held its organizational meeting on Thursday, June 9, 2022 where both Delainah Walker and Crystal Owens were elected for the roles as Board Chair and Vice-Chair respectively.


Delainah Walker, Ward 7 trustee, is now on her third term as a trustee for the Peace River School Division, where she enjoys making a difference for all students and families.


Delainah is the mom to five children, and a grandma of two. In the past, Delainah frequently volunteered at her local school as an assistant basketball coach and occasionally helped at her local community hall. After joining the workforce, Delainah started to get more involved with her culture and began finding ways to spread her cultural expertise and bring awareness to Indigenous people.


As an Indigenous person, she feels it’s extremely important to advocate for First Nations, Métis and Inuit students and families. Delainah is looking forward to expanding and sharing her knowledge within PRSD and using her role to educate others about the cultural significance of First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples.


During the organizational meeting, trustees also determined committees they will represent, appointed trustee representation to external agencies and scheduled dates and times for regular board meetings for the 2022-2023 school year.

Currently, the Board consists of:

Ward 1 Trustee - Marie Dyck – Red Earth Creek, Nampa, Peace River Area

Ward 2 Trustee - Crystal Owens – Peace River, Rural Peace River, Three Creeks

Ward 3 Trustee - Lacey Buchinski – Rural Peace River, Weberville, Dixonville, Deadwood, Manning, Hawk Hills

Ward 4 Trustee - Moise Dion – Peace River, Grimshaw, Shaftesbury

Ward 5 Trustee - Lori Leitch – Grimshaw, Fairview, Berwyn, Brownvale, Whitelaw, Bluesky, Deer Hills

Ward 6 Trustee - Robyn Robertson – Fairview, Rural Fairview

Ward 7 Trustee - Delainah Walker – Hines Creek, Worsley, Bear Canyon, Cleardale, Clear Hills Area

Jun 20, 2022 Board of Trustees

Continue Reading