Tuesday, April 22, 2025

PRSD Nominates Mikaela Tegart for 2025 Edwin Parr Award

Grimshaw, Alta. - Worsley Central School first-year teacher Mikaela Tegart has been named the Peace River School Division's 2025 nominee for the Edwin Parr Teacher Award.

Nominated by Worsley Central School Principal Jennifer Daniel, Ms. Tegart is described as being a calm yet assertive educator. Native to rural, northern Alberta, Ms. Daniel wrote that Ms. Tegart's strong community roots are an asset in the classroom.

"Mikaela demonstrates empathy and genuine care for others by frequently checking in with students identified as needing additional support. She communicates with administration and staff about student well-being and ensures positive interactions with students struggling with attendance, making them feel valued and appreciated for their presence.

"She supports high school students by allowing occasional use of physical education time to 'catch up' on academic work and makes herself available during lunch hours to assist students with academic challenges. Mikaela has high expectations for her students but she also provides appropriate support and calm encouragement to help them reach their goals," wrote Ms. Daniel.

Daniel goes on to share that Ms. Tegart fosters an inclusive learning environment through her classroom rule, "Everyone's voice matters,' co-created with her students. She also keeps a jar of "community mints" in her office, which provides opportunities for informal, personal check-ins with students who visit for a mint and a chat

The Division will celebrate Ms. Tegart at the Worsley Central School Long Term Service staff awards celebration and at the ASBA Zone 1 annual general meeting in the Fall. At this meeting, a nominee from Zone 1 will be selected as the Zone 1 winner of the Edwin Parr Teacher Award.

- 30 -

Background:

Alberta School Boards Association's (ASBA) Edwin Parr Teacher Award recognizes excellent first-year teachers across the province.

Edwin Parr served as President of the Alberta School Trustees' Association (now ASBA) from 1956 to 1962. His long career in educational affairs included terms as a member of the board with the George Lake School District and as Board Chair of the Athabasca School Division. Parr also served on the council of the County of Athabasca from its formation in 1959 until his death in 1963.

During his time as a Board Chair, Edwin Parr instituted an annual teacher award in his school division to celebrate first-year teachers. To honour his memory, and to honour the profession he respected, the Alberta

School Trustees' Association established the Edwin Parr Teacher Award in 1964. For almost 60 years, this award has been presented to outstanding first-year teachers.

For more information, contact:

Kristin Dyck
PRSD Communications Coordinator
dyckk@prsd.ab.ca
780-624-3650 ext. 10154